Arizona’s Allie Skaggs named Pac-12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year


Arizona’s Allie Skaggs has been named the Pac-12 Softball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2023-24 season. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A senior from Louisville, Kentucky, Skaggs boasts a 3.91 grade-point average in journalism. The senior becomes the fourth Wildcat softball player to be named the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year, joining Jessie Harper (2021), Kelsey Rodriguez (2014) and K’Lee Arrendondo (2010). 

Skaggs is a three-time Pac-12 Spring Honor Roll recipient, a 2023 CSC Academic All-District selection and a 2023 NFCA All-America Scholar Athlete. On the diamond, Skaggs is a three-time All-Pac-12 honoree, a two-time NFCA All-Region recipient, and a 2023 NFCA Second-Team All-American. In 2023 she was named the Pac-12 Defensive Player of the Year after committing zero errors at second base, becoming Arizona’s first collegiate Gold Glove winner. In 2022 she led the Pac-12 in home runs with 24, and her 56 career homers ranks 14th in Wildcat history. 

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Alyssa Daniell, ORE; Grace Messmer, OSU; Aly Kaneshiro, STAN; Maya Brady, UCLA; Haley Denning, UTAH; Brooke Nelson, WASH.

– –