Colorado’s Jaylyn Sherrod named Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year


Colorado’s Jaylyn Sherrod has been named the Pac-12 Women’s Basketball Scholar-Athlete of the Year for the 2023-24 season. The award is presented in each of the 24 sports sponsored by the Pac-12 and was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

A graduate student currently studying Criminal Justice, Sherrod has a 3.82 GPA in her masters programs. Sherrod received her undergraduate degree in Sociology in three years before getting her first masters degree in Organizational Leadership. The guard is a three-time Pac-12 Academic Honor Roll recipient and was named to the College Sports Communicators (CSC) Academic All-District team in 2023.

The guard is averaging 12.8 points and a team-best 4.7 assists per game this season. She is Colorado’s all-time leader with 128 games started, and her 609 assists rank her third all-time in Buffs history. This season she was named to the John R. Wooden Award, Naismith Trophy Player of the Year, and USBWA Ann Meyers Drysdale Player of the Year Award watch lists. She is also on the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year midseason watch list.

Sherrod is Colorado’s 10th Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year, and first recipient for women’s basketball. 

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility), on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade-point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year is named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2008-09 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Helena Pueyo, ARIZ; Isadora Sousa; ASU; Leilani McIntosh, CAL; Hannah Jump, STAN; Charisma Osborne, UCLA; Kayla Williams, USC; Alissa Pili, UTAH; Lauren Schwartz, WASH.

– –