Franklin, Johnson Named to Biletnikoff Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Oregon wide receivers Troy Franklin and Tez Johnson were named to the preseason watch list for the 2023 Biletnikoff Award on Monday morning by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club.

Franklin and Johnson are among 49 players on the preseason watch list for the award that annually recognizes the most outstanding receiver in college football, regardless of position.

Oregon is one of 10 schools with multiple players on the Biletnikoff Award watch list, along with Florida State, Georgia, Minnesota, Ohio State, Ole Miss, South Alabama, USC, Virginia Tech and Washington.

Franklin played his way onto the 2022 Biletnikoff Award watch list last November. This is Johnson’s first career appearance on the watch list.

WR Troy Franklin – Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
» All-Pac-12 second-team selection in 2022.

» Led Oregon with 61 receptions for 891 yards and nine touchdowns.

» Tied for the Pac-12 lead with nine receiving TDs.

» Tied for No. 10 in UO single-season history for receiving yards and TDs.

» Career-high 139 receiving yards vs. Washington, one of three 100-yard games.

» Enters 2023 with a reception in 17 straight games, and a TD catch in four straight games.

WR Tez Johnson – Biletnikoff Award Preseason Watch List
» Entering first season at Oregon after transferring from Troy.

» All-Sun Belt honorable mention selection in 2022.

» Caught 56 passes for 863 yards and four touchdowns.

» Led all qualified FBS receivers with a stellar 90.5 receiving grade from Pro Football Focus.

» 89.9 overall grade from PFF trailed only Ohio State’s Marvin Harrison Jr. in 2022.

» Two 100-yard receiving games, including a career-high 121 yards vs. Marshall.

Ducks on 2023 Preseason Watch Lists
Maxwell Award – QB Bo Nix
Outland Trophy – OL Josh Conerly Jr.
Bronko Nagurski Trophy – DE Brandon Dorlus, DB Evan Williams

Wuerffel Trophy – DB Trikweze Bridges

Paul Hornung Award – WR Kris Hutson

Paul Mackey Award – TE Terrance Ferguson

Rimington Trophy – OL Jackson Powers-Johnson

Biletnikoff Award – WR Troy Franklin, WR Tez Johnson