Franklin Named Biletnikoff Award Semifinalist

TALLAHASSEE, Fla.. — Oregon wide receiver Troy Franklin was announced as a semifinalist for the 2023 Biletnikoff Award on Monday morning by the Tallahassee Quarterback Club (TQC) Foundation Inc. The Biletnikoff Award is presented annually to the nation’s most outstanding receiver at any position.

Franklin is one of 10 semifinalists for the prestigious award, and one of just two from the Pac-12 along with Washington’s Rome Odunze. The semifinalist list consists of nine wide receivers and Georgia tight end Brock Bowers.

Franklin joins Demetrius Williams as the only Ducks ever to be named Biletnikoff Award semifinalists. Williams was a semifinalist in both 2005 and 2006.

Three finalists for the Biletnikoff Award will be announced on Nov. 28, and the winner of the 29th Biletnikoff Award winner will be announced during the Home Depot College Football Awards show on ESPN on Dec. 8. The winner will be presented with the Biletnikoff Award trophy at the Biletnikoff Award Banquet & Celebration in Tallahassee on Saturday, March 9, 2024.

Franklin has been one of the nation’s truly elite receivers in 2023, setting Oregon single-season records for receiving yards (1,221), receiving touchdowns (13) and 100-yard receiving games (7). He leads the Pac-12 in both receiving yards and receiving touchdowns, ranking fourth and tied for second in the nation, respectively. He also leads the Pac-12 with 14 receptions of 30-plus yards, tied for second-most in the nation.

The East Palo Alto, Calif., native is one of just six FBS players with at least seven 100-yard receiving games, and he is one of just three in the nation averaging 100.0 yards per game (111.0) while also having double-digit touchdown catches. Franklin has at least one touchdown catch in nine of 11 games, and he recorded his fourth multi-TD performance of the season last week at Arizona State while finishing with eight catches for 128 yards and two scores.

Franklin enters this Friday’s regular-season finale against Oregon State (5:30 p.m., FOX) with 68 receptions on the season, just nine shy of the program record. His 24 career receiving touchdowns are tied for the all-time Oregon record.

Franklin has been especially dominant early in games, leading the nation in receiving yards (857) and receiving touchdowns (10) in the first half. He has at least one reception in 28 consecutive games, tied for the second-longest streak in program history, and has multiple catches in 24 of his last 25 games.

2023 Biletnikoff Award Semifinalists

Brock Bowers (TE) – Georgia

Luther Burden III (WR) – Missouri

Keon Coleman (WR) – Florida State

Troy Franklin (WR) – Oregon

Marvin Harrison Jr. (WR) – Ohio State

Xavier Legette (WR) – South Carolina

Malik Nabers (WR) – LSU

Rome Odunze (WR) – Washington

Brian Thomas Jr. (WR) – LSU

Malik Washington (WR) – Virginia