Ionescu Named to Nancy Lieberman Award Watch List


EUGENE, Ore. – Two-time Nancy Lieberman Award winner Sabrina Ionescu is on the preseason watch list once again for the honor given to the nation’s top point guard, the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association announced on Monday morning.

Ionescu won the Lieberman Award for the second straight year in 2018-19 after putting together a historic junior season. The unanimous first-team all-American won the Wade Trophy and the Wooden Award as the nation’s most outstanding player while also repeating as the Pac-12 player of the year.

Ionescu, who chose to return for her senior season rather than declare for the WNBA Draft, led the Ducks to their first ever Final Four while averaging 19.9 points, 7.4 rebounds and 8.2 assists per game, and she racked up an NCAA record eight triple-doubles to break the NCAA all-time (men’s and women’s) record for career triple-doubles with 18.

Entering her senior season, Ionescu has a chance to become just the second three-time Lieberman Award winner in the history of the honor. Only Sue Bird (UConn, 2000-02) has been named the nation’s top point guard three times in a career.

The Selection Committee for the Nancy Lieberman Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. New to the award this season is Fan Voting presented by Dell Technologies in each of the three rounds. By mid-February, the watch list of 20 players for the 2020 Lieberman Award will be narrowed to just 10. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Lieberman and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee.

The winner of the 2020 Lieberman Award will be presented at The College Basketball Awards presented by Wendy’s in Los Angeles, CA on Friday, April 10, 2020, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

2020 Nancy Lieberman Point Guard of the Year Award Candidates*

Te’a Cooper Baylor
Crystal Dangerfield Connecticut
Kelly Campbell DePaul
Nicole Cardano-Hillary George Mason
Ali Patberg Indiana
Lauren Dickerson Miami-Ohio
Cierra Hooks Ohio
Sabrina Ionescu Oregon
Destiny Slocum Oregon State
Stella Johnson Rider
Tyasha Harris South Carolina
Tiana England St. John’s
Sug Sutton Texas
Chennedy Carter Texas A&M
Miyah Barnes UAB
Kay Kay Wright UCF
Japreece Dean UCLA
Dru Gylten Utah
Taja Cole Virginia Tech
Chloe Wanink Wofford

This should be done before you start taking the cialis line prescription pleasures of life which you truly deserve. According to texts of ayurveda drumsticks adversely affect quality and quantity of levitra consultation look at more info semen. So even after ejaculation, viagra online the erection is going to stay. As ridiculous as this may sound at first, you must honor buy levitra your own shame.
*Players can play their way onto and off of the list at any point in the 2019-20 season