Irving, Whittington Named To Doak Walker Award Watch List

DALLAS — Oregon running backs Bucky Irving and Noah Whittington have been named to the preseason watch list for the Doak Walker Award, the PwC SMU Athletic Forum announced on Wednesday.

Irving and Whittington are among 75 players on the preseason watch list for the award presented annually to the top running back in college football. Oregon is one of 11 schools with multiple running backs on the watch list, along with Colorado, Illinois, Kansas, LSU, Michigan, Ohio State, Penn State, TCU, Tennessee and Wisconsin.

The PwC SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will name ten semifinalists in November, and three finalists, as voted on by the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee, will be announced in November. The committee will cast a second vote in December to determine the recipient. The winner of the 2023 Doak Walker Award will be announced live on The Home Depot College Football Awards.

RB Bucky Irving – Doak Walker Award Preseason Watch List
» All-Pac-12 honorable mention in 2022, his first season as a Duck.

» Pro Football Focus all-Pac-12 first team after ranking sixth nationally with a 93.2 rushing grade.

» Led Oregon with 1,058 rushing yards, ranking third in the Pac-12 and 19th in UO single-season history.

» No. 3 in the Pac-12 with 81.38 rushing yards per game.

» Rushed for five touchdowns and added three receiving touchdowns.

» No. 3 in UO single-season history and fourth in the Pac-12 with 6.78 yards per carry.

» Also threw a touchdown pass in Oregon’s win at Colorado.

RB Noah Whittington – Doak Walker Award Preseason Watch List
» Played in all 13 games in 2022 during first season at Oregon.

» Rushed for a career-high 779 yards with five TDs, and added 169 receiving yards and a TD.

» Rushed for at least 50 yards in nine of 13 games with one 100-yard game, a 106-yard performance vs. Washington.

» Earned a solid 79.9 overall grade from Pro Football Focus with an 82.7 rushing grade.

» Ranked ninth in the Pac-12 with 59.92 rushing yards per game, and 10th with 5.60 yards per carry.

Ducks on 2023 Preseason Watch Lists
Maxwell Award – QB Bo Nix
Outland Trophy – OL Josh Conerly Jr.
Bronko Nagurski Trophy – DE Brandon Dorlus, DB Evan Williams

Wuerffel Trophy – DB Trikweze Bridges

Paul Hornung Award – WR Kris Hutson

Paul Mackey Award – TE Terrance Ferguson

Rimington Trophy – OL Jackson Powers-Johnson

Biletnikoff Award – WR Troy Franklin, WR Tez Johnson

Davey O’Brien Award – QB Bo Nix

Doak Walker Award – RB Bucky Irving, RB Noah Whittington