Offensive Line Named To Joe Moore Award Midseason Honor Roll

NEW YORK — The Oregon offensive line has been named to the midseason honor roll for the Joe Moore Award, which is given annually to the most outstanding offensive line unit in college football.

The Ducks are one of 23 teams on the midseason honor roll, and one of three Pac-12 units along with Oregon State and Washington. Oregon was a semifinalist for the award in 2022, when the Ducks led the nation with just five sacks allowed.

Through six games in 2023, the UO offensive line is the top-graded pass-blocking team in the nation by Pro Football Focus at 89.6. The Ducks are also the No. 1 rushing team in the nation according to PFF with a stellar 92.8 grade.

Oregon is tied for fourth in the nation with just four sacks allowed, and tied for ninth with only 24 tackles-for-loss given up. The O-line has helped the Oregon offense lead the nation so far this season in both scoring (48.5 PPG) and total offense (553.3 YPG), and the Ducks are one of just two teams (LSU) to rank in the top 10 in both rushing (8th, 221.67 YPG) and passing offense (9th, 331.7 YPG).

The Ducks have started the same five players along the offensive line in all six games, and have combined for 90 total knockdowns. Jackson Powers-Johnson leads the team with 19 knockdowns and is the top-graded pass-blocking center in the nation by PFF at 90.0, allowing just one pressure in 230 opportunities. Right tackle Ajani Cornelius has also surrendered just one pressure, and is tied for eighth among all FBS tackles with an 87.8 pass-blocking grade from PFF.

The No. 9 Ducks (5-1, 2-1 Pac-12) return home to Autzen Stadium this week to host Washington State (4-2, 1-2 Pac-12) on Saturday at 12:30 p.m. PT (ABC).