PRESS RELEASE | Powers-Johnson Named Outland Trophy Semifinalist

Powers-Johnson is one of five offensive lineman up for the award, along with two defensive linemen. The Outland Trophy is awarded annually to the nation’s best college interior lineman on offense or defense, with semifinalists selected by the Football Writers Association of America.

Powers-Johnson is the fourth Duck ever to be named a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy, joining Penei Sewell (2019), Jake Fisher (2014) and Haloti Ngata (2005). Powers-Johnson will look to join Sewell as the only Ducks to win the award.

A native of Draper, Utah, Powers-Johnson has been tremendous for the Ducks in his first season as the starting center. He ranks second among all FBS centers with a 90.1 pass-blocking grade from Pro Football Focus, while ranking fifth in overall grade (78.8) and sixth in run blocking (77.5).

Powers-Johnson has allowed just one pressure in 361 pass-blocking opportunities, and he leads the Ducks with 31 total knockdowns in 10 games.

The junior has been in the middle of an Oregon offensive line that leads the nation with just four sacks allowed and is tied for third with 32 tackles for loss. The O-line has set the tone for an offense that leads the nation in scoring (46.3 PPG), first downs per game (26.8) and fewest turnovers (4), while ranking second in total offense (540.0 YPG), yards per rush (6.16) and total yards per play (7.84).

The semifinalists will be pared to three finalists on Tue., Nov. 28. The recipient of the 2023 Outland Trophy will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards, live on ESPN on Dec. 8 at 7 p.m. ET. The official presentation to the winner will be made at the Outland Trophy Awards Dinner sponsored by Werner Enterprises and produced by the Greater Omaha Sports Committee in Omaha, Neb., on Jan. 10, 2024.

2023 Outland Trophy Finalists

OT Joe Alt – Notre Dame

OG Cooper Beebe – Kansas State

OT Taliese Fuaga – Oregon State

DT Jer’Zhan Newton – Illinois

C Jackson Powers-Johnson – Oregon

DT T’Vondre Sweat – Texas

OG Zak Zinter – Michigan