Outstanding Achievement Recognized: Winners Announced at OADA State Athletic Directors Conference

Sunriver, Oregon, April 16, 2024 – The Oregon Athletic Directors Conference concluded on April 16, celebrating excellence and dedication in the field of athletic administration. The event, held at Sunriver, Oregon, brought together seasoned professionals, emerging talents, and industry experts to acknowledge exemplary contributions and innovative practices within the realm of interscholastic sports management.

Highlighting the core values of leadership, innovation, and commitment to student athletes’ welfare, the conference recognized individuals who have demonstrated exceptional prowess in their roles as athletic directors. Amongst the distinguished award winners were:

  1. Proactive Coaching Leader of Significance Award:

Person or business that promotes, invests and commits to character and leadership development in Oregon Middle & High School student athletes.

Peter Weber, OSAA Executive Director

  1. Bill Bowers Award of Excellence:

Special award given to honor Bill’s passion, determination, belief in professional growth and development of ADs through LTI courses, NIAAA, OADA

Tim Sam, CMAA, North Valley High School

  1. NIAAA State Award of Merit:

This award may be presented annually by each state to an individual who is an NIAAA member and is deemed by the state association to have performed meritorious service to the state.

Brad Dunten, Powder Valley High School

  1. Athletic Director of the Year:

This prestigious accolade acknowledges outstanding leadership in their league and across the classification.

1A: Bart Rothenberger, CAA, Alsea High School

2A: Kevin Moffatt, Kennedy High School

3A: Zach Lillebo, Taft High School

4A: Greg Mulkey, Marshfield High School

5A: Daunte Gouge, CMAA, Centennial High School

6A: Ryan McIrvin, CAA, McMinnville High School

Small School (1A, 2A, 3A) AD of Year: Kevin Moffatt

Large School (4A, 5A, 6A) AD of Year: Greg Mulkey

  1. Bruce D. Whitehead Distinguished Service Award Nominee:

The Bruce D. Whitehead Distinguished Service Award is presented annually to individuals from within the NIAAA membership in recognition of their length of service, special accomplishments and contributions to interscholastic athletics at the local, state and national levels. 

Craig Rothenberger, CAA, Junction City High School

  1. NFHS Citation Award Nominee:

NFHS Citations are awarded to individuals whose contributions have impacted high school activity programs through their association with one of the following groups of professionals: state associations and NFHS staff, athletic directors, coaches, officials, music adjudicators and directors, and speech, debate and theatre directors.

Missy Smith, CMAA, OSAA Assistant Executive Director

  1. OADA/OSAA Partnership

The award goes to the Athletic Director who goes out of their way to help the OSAA on committees, at state championship contests, or just continuing a good relationship with the OSAA.

Marshall Haskins, PIL Athletics

  1. Cindy Simmons Leadership Award:

This accolade honors exceptional efforts in guiding other athletic directors, coaches and school community members.  

Lorena Woods, CAA, Stanfield Secondary School


Shelley Moore, CAA, Newport High School

  1. Jim Rotramel Lifetime Service Award

This award is given to the Athletic Director who exemplifies the profession with servant leadership and a life-long commitment to serving today’s youth. 

Jerry Buczynski, Willamina High School


Greg Grant, Heppner High School

  1. CAA Certifications Achieved:     

These ADs have demonstrated the highest level of knowledge and expertise in the field of interscholastic athletic administration. The voluntary certification process included a thorough evaluation of the candidate’s educational background, experience, and professional contributions, as well as a rigorous, comprehensive written examination:

Billy Brost, The Dalles HS, Tony Bush, Crosspoint Christian, Ryan Gallagher, Parkrose HS, Chris George, LaSalle Catholic, Anna Maria Lopez, St. Mary’s Academy, John Matsuo, Hillsboro HS, Ryan McIrvin, McMinnville HS, Josh Mink, Ontario HS, Ricky Rodriguez, Sheldon HS, Lorena Woods, Stanfield Secondary School, Tina Pearson, Blanchet Catholic

Commenting on the significance of these awards, Dave Hood, CAA, OADA Executive Director, expressed, “The State Athletic Director Conference serves as a platform to recognize and celebrate the exemplary individuals who drive positive change and uphold the highest standards of athletic administration. The awardees represent the epitome of leadership, innovation, and commitment to the advancement of interscholastic sports within our communities.”

The Oregon Athletic Director State Conference continues to serve as a cornerstone event for athletic administrators, providing a forum for professional development, networking, and recognition of outstanding achievements. As the sporting landscape evolves, the conference remains dedicated to empowering leaders and shaping the future of athletics.

For more information about the Oregon Athletic Directors Conference and upcoming events, please visit oadaonline.org.