Powers-Johnson Awarded Rimington Trophy

EUGENE, Ore. – Oregon All-American Jackson Powers-Johnson was named the winner of the 2023 Rimington Trophy, presented annually to the most outstanding center in NCAA Division I college football, on Friday night during The Home Depot College Football Awards Show.

Also named Walter Camp first-team All-America during the show, Powers-Johnson leads all FBS centers in PFF pass-blocking grade (91.3), run-blocking grade (84.2) and overall grade (83.9). He was a two-time winner of the Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week, while also being named a semifinalist for the Outland Trophy.

“We are very proud of Jackson for earning this outstanding honor as the best center in college football,” Oregon head coach Dan Lanning said. “This is something he has put a tremendous amount of effort towards, and combined with his special talents the results speak for themselves. Jackson has done a terrific job for us this season, both on the field and as a leader within our program. He has grown so much as both a player and a person and is incredibly deserving of this award.”

The Ducks center led an offensive line that has been dominant in 2023 leading the nation with just five sacks allowed, four fewer than any other FBS team, while ultimately being named a finalist for the Joe Moore Award honoring the nation’s top offensive line.

In addition to being named a first-team Walter Camp All-American, Powers-Johnson earned first-team All-America honors from CBS/247 Sports, The Athletic, Pro Football Focus, USA Today and the College Football Network earlier this week while also claiming Sports Illustrated second-team recognition. 

“There’s no one more deserving. I am proud of the work and leadership JPJ has shown since he stepped foot on campus,” Oregon offensive line coach A’Lique Terry said. “I remember talking with his dad during his recruiting about this very moment and for him to be here a few years later as the Rimington Trophy winner is a testament to his consistent work ethic and mindset to be his best self daily. Thankful and proud of JPJ for helping lead our room all year and being consistent in his play of physicality and dominance no matter the circumstances, and it now leading to his recognition as the best center in the country. Forever grateful for JPJ.”

Powers-Johnson is the first Oregon center to win the Rimington Trophy. He joined Hroniss Grasu (2013, 2014) and Max Unger (2008) as finalists.

2023 Powers-Johnson Awards

  • Rimington Trophy (Winner)
  • Walter Camp All-America Team (First Team)
  • CBS/247Sports All-America Team (First Team)
  • The Athletic All-America Team (First Team)
  • Pro Football Focus All-America Team (First Team)
  • USA Today All-America Team (First Team)
  • College Football Network All-America Team (First Team)
  • Sports Illustrated All-America Team (Second Team)
  • College Football Network Offensive Center of the Year
  • All-Pac-12 Conference (First Team)
  • Outland Trophy (Semifinalist)
  • Pac-12 Offensive Lineman of the Week (Weeks 4 & 13)