Stein Selected As Broyles Award Semifinalist

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. — Oregon offensive coordinator Will Stein was announced a semifinalist for the 2023 Broyles Award on Monday by the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation. The Broyles Award is presented annually to the top assistant coach in college football.

Stein is the fourth Oregon assistant coach to be named a Broyles Award semifinalist, joining Kenny Dillingham (2022), Andy Avalos (2019) and Gary Crowton (2005). He is one of 15 semifinalists for the 2023 award, and one of three from the Pac-12 along with D’Anton Lynn (UCLA) and Ryan Grubb (Washington).

Stein’s offense has been tremendous in his first season at Oregon, ranking second nationally in scoring offense (46.5 PPG) and total offense (545.7 YPG) while leading the country in touchdowns (69), passing touchdowns (39), completion percentage (77.9) and first downs per game (27.2). The Ducks have moved the ball at a rapid rate while also not putting it in jeopardy, tying for second nationally with just six turnovers.

Oregon is the only team in the nation to score at least 30 points in every game, and one of nine with at least three 50-point performances. In Stein’s first game as UO’s offensive coordinator, the Ducks set a modern-day program record with 81 points against Portland State.

The Ducks are one of just four teams (LSU, North Carolina, North Texas) in the national top 25 for both passing offense (2nd, 350.0 YPG) and rushing offense (21st, 195.73 YPG).

Stein has coached quarterback Bo Nix to a potential Heisman Trophy-winning season. Nix leads the nation with an incredible 78.1 completion percentage – on pace to break the NCAA single-season record of 77.4 – while ranking second in passing touchdowns (35), second in passer rating (191.4), second in total yards per play (9.12), third in passing yards per game (321.7), third in total touchdowns (40), fourth in total yards per game (333.4) and fifth in completions (282).

Troy Franklin has also put together arguably the greatest season ever by an Oregon receiver under Stein. Franklin has set single-season program records for receiving yards (1,221), receiving touchdowns (13) and 100-yard receiving games (7), and his 68 receptions are nine away from the program record. Franklin leads the Pac-12 in receiving yards per game (111.0) and receiving touchdowns, and is a semifinalist for the Biletnikoff Award as the nation’s best receiver at any position.

2023 Broyles Award Semifinalists

Tommy Rees (Offensive Coordinator) – Alabama

Adam Fuller (Defensive Coordinator) – Florida State

Mike Bobo (Offensive Coordinator) – Georgia

Phil Parker (Defensive Coordinator) – Iowa

Bryant Haines (Defensive Coordinator) – James Madison

Ron English (Defensive Coordinator) – Louisville

Mike Denbrock (Offensive Coordinator) – LSU

Sherrone Moore (Offensive Coordinator) – Michigan

Kevin Peoples (Defensive Line) – Missouri

Jim Knowles (Defensive Coordinator) – Ohio State

Will Stein (Offensive Coordinator) – Oregon

Manny Diaz (Defensive Coordinator) – Penn State

Pete Kwiatkowski (Defensive Coordinator) – Texas

D’Anton Lynn (Defensive Coordinator) – UCLA

Ryan Grubb (Offensive Coordinator) – Washington