Utah’s Hostert named Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year 

Hostert SAOY.png

UTAH’s Randon Hostert was named the 2024 Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year, the Conference office announced Tuesday. The award, which is presented in each of the 24 sports the Pac-12 sponsors, was established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

Hostert is the first ever Ute to be named Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athlete of the Year.

The redshirt senior from Idaho Falls, Idaho, graduated with a health and kinesiology degree, earning a 3.96 grade-point average.  Last year, Hostert was on the 2023 CSC Academic All-District Team and the Pac-12 Spring Academic Honor Roll.

On the field, the long reliever and setup man made 25 appearances in the regular season  and has four of his five wins in Pac-12 play this season.  With 48 strikeouts in 50.1 innings, Hostert has an 8.58 K/9 ratio, the fourth best on his team.  He picked up a win over a highly ranked Oregon State squad when he dealt three scoreless innings, racking up four strikeouts as Utah turned a 9-0 deficit into a 14-11 victory.

In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport’s regular season. The athletics accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in voting for the award.

A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12’s 24 sponsored sports: baseball, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, beach volleyball, men’s cross country, women’s cross country, football, men’s golf, women’s golf, women’s gymnastics, women’s lacrosse, men’s rowing, women’s rowing, men’s soccer, women’s soccer, softball, men’s swimming & diving, women’s swimming & diving, men’s tennis, women’s tennis, men’s track & field, women’s track & field, women’s volleyball, and wrestling. The award was first established during the 2007-08 academic year.

ALSO NOMINATED: Owen Cobb, Stanford; Trevor Long, Arizona; Bryce Boettcher, Oregon; Jared Engman, Washington; Joey Mundt, Oregon State, Tyler Stasiowski, California; Grant Taylor, Washington State, Matt Tieding, Arizona State

Pac-12 Baseball Scholar-Athletes of the Year 
2024 – Randon Hostert, Utah 
2023 – Jacob McKeon, Washington State 
2022 – Alex Williams, Stanford 
2021 – Zach Grech, Stanford 
2020 – No award 
2019 – Mason Cerillo, Washington 
2018 – Jack Anderson, Oregon State 
2017 – Max Engelbrekt, Oregon State 
2016 – Nick Halamandaris, California 
2015 – Tyler Davis, Washington 
2014 – Collin Slaybaugh, Washington State 
2013 – Mark Appel, Stanford 
2012 – Andrew Triggs, Stanford 
2011 – Chris Metzger, USC 
2010 – Matt Fanelli, Washington State 
2009 – Greg Lagreid, Washington State 
2008 – Jasyon Miller, Washington State

– Pac-12.com –