VanSlooten Voted to Preseason All-Pac-12 Team

EUGENE, Ore. – Sophomore forward Grace VanSlooten earned a place on the Pac-12 preseason all-conference team, following a vote by media members who cover the league, the conference office announced Monday.

VanSlooten, a 6-foot-3 product of Toledo, Ohio, was named to the 2022-23 Pac-12 all-freshman team and all-Pac-12 honorable mention after averaging 13.2 points, 5.6 rebounds and 1.8 assists per game last season. She was a four-time Pac-12 freshman of the week award winner and became just the third player in Pac-12 history to sweep both freshman and player of the week honors.

Making 30 starts, VanSlooten ranked second in the league in scoring among conference freshmen, and was one of only three Power 5 freshmen to average at least 13.0 points and 5.0 rebounds while shooting 45.0 percent or better from the field (46.5).

VanSlooten logged a pair of double-doubles and dropped a season-high 29 points against third-ranked Ohio State at the San Diego Invitational. She tied for the team-lead with five 20-points scoring efforts and with 25 games scoring in double figures.

With her 423 points, VanSlooten produced the fifth-most points by a Duck freshman while tying for seventh with 155 made field goals. Additionally, her 113 made free throws tied for third-most in UO freshman history.

The Ducks are coming off a 20-15 campaign (7-11 Pac-12) in which they reached the Great 9 round of the WNIT. UO brings back four letterwinners, including starters Chance Gray, Phillipina Kyei and VanSlooten.

Oregon opens its exhibition slate with a home matchup against Southern Oregon on Sunday, Oct. 29 at 2 p.m. PT. The 2023-24 season officially begins on Monday, Nov. 6 against Northern Arizona at Matthew Knight Arena.

2023-24 Pac-12 Preseason All-Conference Team

Raegan Beers, Oregon State

Cameron Brink, Stanford

Hannah Jump, Stanford

Gianna Kneepkens, Utah

Charlisse Leger-Walker, Washington State

Rayah Marshall, USC

Esmery Martinez, Arizona

Quay Miller, Colorado

Bella Murekatete, Washington State

Charisma Osborne, UCLA

Alissa Pili, Utah

Kiki Rice, UCLA

Jaylyn Sherrod, Colorado

Grace VanSlooten, Oregon

Talia von Oelhoffen, Oregon State

HONORABLE MENTION (received votes from three-or-more members of the media):

Helena Pueyo (ARIZ); Kemery Martín (CAL); Leilani McIntosh (CAL); Frida Formann (COLO);

Aaronette Vonleh (COLO); Talana Lepolo (STAN); Emily Bessoir (UCLA); Lauren Betts (UCLA);

JuJu Watkins (USC); Jenna Johnson (UTAH); Dalayah Daniels (WASH).