Violet Palmer to be inducted into Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame

NEW VIOLET PALMER VOD.mp4_.00_02_49_00.Still001__1456785995.jpg

Violet Palmer, the Pac-12’s coordinator of women’s basketball officials for the past 13 seasons, will be inducted into the Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame. The 2024 class, which was announced during halftime of the North Carolina-South Carolina game on ESPN on Thursday, Nov. 30, will be inducted on Saturday, April 27 at the Tennessee Theatre in Knoxville, Tenn.

“Violet is a valued member of the Pac-12 community and we are so proud of her accomplishments. She has been a leader in the sport of women’s basketball, and I am thrilled that her contributions are being recognized by induction into the Hall of Fame, said Pac-12 Deputy Commissioner Teresa Gould. “Her dedication to teaching, mentoring, and lifting others up has opened the door for so many outstanding officials, coaches, and student-athletes. It is wonderful to see her legacy be honored by the Hall of Fame.”

Palmer, who also coordinates officials for the West Coast, Western Athletic, Big Sky, and Big West conferences, has been with the Pac-12 since 2010. In 1997, she became the first woman to referee an NBA game and went on to crew more than 900 regular-season NBA games. Palmer was the first woman to officiate an NBA playoff game in 2006 to begin a total of nine career NBA postseason assignments, and in 2014 she became the first woman to officiate the league’s all-star game.

Also working at the highest levels of women’s basketball, Palmer officiated the inaugural season of the WNBA in 1997 in addition to five NCAA Women’s Final Fours and two championship games. She was named Naismith Award Women’s Official of the Year in 1999. 

Earlier this year, Palmer was honored with the 2023 Gold Whistle Award, presented by the National Association of Sports Officials (NASO). The Gold Whistle is bestowed upon those who have made significant contributions to the betterment of officiating, exhibit a high degree of integrity and ethics, and other qualities that are held in high regard by the industry. 

The 2024 Women’s Basketball Hall of Fame class also features Seimone Augustus, Rita Easterling, Taj McWilliams-Franklin, Maya Moore, Sue Phillips, and Mary “Roonie” Scovel. – –